Different ways to wear riding boots

Hey everyone, Ashley here. While I’m out of town (and away from my laptop for the majority of the time), I’ve scheduled a few posts, including this guest blog post from my fashionista sister, pictured above. Hope you enjoy! And without further adeiu, here’s Emily …

Hello all! So, Ashley is away this week at a work conference up in Alaska (how cool is that?!?) So she asked me, her little sister, Emily, to take over. I am 20 years old and a full-time student studying Textiles and Merchandising with a minor in Apparel Design — so I guess you could say I have a passion for fashion. :) I spent this past summer working at a small boutique, Main Elements, in my hometown of Gillette, WY, and have gained a ton of experience in visual promotion (the fancy term for dressing mannequins and creating displays) and styling customers! I am a little sad to be going back to school because that means saying goodbye to fun in the sun and hello to textbooks and cram sessions. :( However, when it comes to fall style I always get super excited for cozy sweaters, warm pea coats, comfy scarves, and last but certainly not least … RIDING BOOTS! Riding boots are so chic and versatile that I literally wear them 6 days out of the week in the fall and winter, which I guess you would say kinda makes me an expert?? Anyways, here are three easy ways to wear riding boots!

With a summer dress: You know that adorable summer dress you have in your closet? It might be a floral print with bold colors that subconsciously brings you to the beaches of Tahiti every time you put in on … and there is always a sigh of disappointment when you retire it to the back of your closet once the weather cools?

Well, if you have a pair of riding boots, bring that dress out again! Here’s what you need:

  • Summer dress
  • Cardigan or jacket, in a corresponding tone
  • Lightweight scarf
  • Opaque tights also in a corresponding tone
  • Riding boots

Here is an example below (minus the boots) taken at the boutique I worked at!

BEFORE:

AFTER:

{Dress, Jack by BB Dakota; jacket, Guess; scarf: Lucky brand; purse: Big Buddha.}

All you need to add is some tights and a pair of brown boots, and voila…you have stylishly repurposed your summer dress.

To the office: For this look, I recommend wearing a riding boots that’s a bit more professional looking — something with clean lines, limited buckles/zippers, and a bit of a polish. See the example below!

working warrior

To class: Riding boots have become a staple in my wardrobe. I wear them probably 6 days out of the week once the cold weather hits! I am also a college student which means that comfort is an important factor when choosing my wardrobe. Usually I am not a huge fan of the whole “leggings as pants” craze, but if the sweater is large enough to cover the rear end (plus a bit more) I’ll let myself get away with it. Add a comfy scarf and riding boots and it’s good to go. See the example below.

Knit Sweater
Leave a Reply

