Keeping cool and caffienated

BY ASHLEY

Iced coffee is the perfect hot weather pick-me-up. And it’s so easy to make! Now don’t get me wrong — I do love coffee shops, but I normally stick to truly “fancy drinks” when forking out several dollars a cup of coffee. Like americanos, lattes, mochas.

When I’m working from home, I like to brew a cool cup of joe mid-afternoon. Here’s how I do it:

1. Brew double-strength coffee. I usually brew one scoop of grounds per cup of water when I want normal hot coffee. So for iced coffee, I toss in about two scoops of grounds and one cup of water into my automatic coffeemaker. On that note, I usually end up with 1-1.5 cups of hot brewed coffee since it’s double strength. …hot?? Yes, that’s correct. But hold on…

2. Fill cup FULL of ice cubes. Since you’ll be pouring hot coffee right onto the ice, they’ll melt pretty quickly. TIP: The bigger the cubes, the slower they melt.

3. Pour coffee over ice and top off your cup with water. Add less if you plan to add in milk or creamer. Make sure your coffee to water/milk ration is 1:1, at most. If you’re a slow drinker, keep in mind that as the ice melts, it will water down your drink. Also, if you want to add sweetener, like sugar, honey or stevia, add that after the coffee, before the water/milk. That lets it mix in just right.

What’s your favorite mid-afternoon pick-me-up?

And also, I’m working on a back-to-school guide of coffee shops in Missoula. I often work out of the office and when I tire of working at home, I like to take my laptop to local coffee shops. Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

